All patients must hold a valid medical cannabis card to legally purchase and possess a medical cannabis product in Utah (Utah Medical Cannabis Act). See below for instructions on how to apply.


Access the Electronic Verification System (EVS) HERE.


*Note: To learn more about the patient process select the ‘+’ symbol to the right of the topic*

STEP 1: Locate a medical provider who is registered to recommend medical cannabis. If your current provider cannot assist, please refer to our Locate a Provider page.

STEP 2: Meet with the recommending provider. To qualify for a medical cannabis card, a patient must meet in person with a provider for the initial visit.

STEP 3: Create a Utah ID account (if you do not already have one). A Utah ID account can be created by going to id.utah.gov. For Utah ID account creation instructions, click here.

STEP 4: Review the EVS user guide and apply online for a medical cannabis card. The EVS Patient Application Guide can be found here.

STEP 5: After a patient creates a profile in the EVS, and is in 'awaiting certification.' The medical provider will enter a certification and recommendation.

NOTE: If you have been diagnosed with a non-qualifying condition, your QMP must complete the Compassionate Use Board Petition form in REDCap.

STEP 6: Pay medical cannabis card application fee online. The patient returns to their profile in the EVS and pays their medical cannabis card application fee online. At this point, the completed application will be submitted online to the UDOH.

Medical cannabis card fees:

  • Patient Card (initial): $15
  • Patient Card (renewal): $15

STEP 7: DHHS reviews medical cannabis card application. For adult patients ages 21 and older with a qualifying condition, the application review process will be completed 15 days or less from the date the application is submitted.

For minor patients younger than age 21 and adult patients without a qualifying condition, the application review process will be completed 90 days or less from the date the application is submitted, as these applications must be reviewed by the Compassionate Use Board.

Patients younger than age 21 and adult patients without a qualifying condition will receive communications regarding the status of their Compassionate Use Board petition from cubcmc@utah.gov please add this address to your contacts.

STEP 8. Receive medical cannabis card. If all requirements have been met, the DHHS will issue the card and email the patient a copy of their medical cannabis card. The patient can then save the medical cannabis card on their smartphone or print it out.

STEP 9. Purchase medical cannabis from a medical cannabis pharmacy. Once a medical cannabis card is issued by the DHHS, a patient is ready to purchase a product from a medical cannabis pharmacy. To purchase medical cannabis, a patient must bring their medical cannabis card and a valid form of photo identification, such as a driver’s license, with them to the pharmacy.

Before the first purchase a patient will need to consult with a medical cannabis pharmacist. Some pharmacies require an appointment made in advance for this consultation.

A list of Utah’s 14 medical cannabis pharmacies is posted here. The 15th pharmacy located in Price is set to open in the Fall of 2022.

Click HERE for a video demonstration of how-to complete the EVS application

NOTE: You may complete the renewal process 30 days prior to your card’s expiration date, but you will not be issued or able to print your updated card until after your previous card has expired.

STEP 1: Log in to the EVS and navigate to your patient profile.

  • Hover over Tracking Inbox in the top left-hand corner of your screen and click Patient (not New Patient).
  • Click your name.
  • Scroll to the bottom of the Patient page and click the blue ‘Save and Submit Registration’ button.
  • Your status will change to ‘Awaiting Certification.’
  • Your designated QMP must now enter a new certification for you.
  • Contact your QMP and inform them that you are awaiting their renewal of your certification.
  • STEP 2: Your medical provider must now enter a new certification for you. Contact your medical provider and inform them that you are awaiting renewal of the certification in the EVS.

    STEP 3: After your medical provider has renewed your certification, your status in the EVS will change to ‘Awaiting Payment.’ Now you may pay for your renewal.

  • Log in to the EVS and navigate to your patient profile.
  • Hover over Tracking Inbox in the top left-hand corner of your screen and click Patient (not New Patient).
  • Click your name.
  • Click the grey 'Payment' tab (below the blue status bar and above your information). Ensure your browser’s pop-up blockers are disabled.
  • Click ‘+New,’ then ‘Click Here to Make Payment.’A new window will open.
  • Enter your payment information and submit.
  • Once you receive a confirmation, you will be automatically redirected back to the EVS.
  • Hover over Tracking Inbox in the top left-hand corner of your screen and click Patient (not New Patient).
  • Click your name.
  • View your profile, where your status will have changed to ‘Renewal Completed’ or ‘Awaiting State Review.’
  • If your status is 'Renewal Completed' you are finished. You will continue to use your current card until its expiration date. The date after your current card expires you will receive your new card. If your current card is expired you will receive your new card the day after you have paid.

    If your status is 'Awaiting CUB Review' contact us at cubcmc@utah.gov to continue your renewal process.

    Medical cannabis guardian cards are issued simultaneously with provisional patient cards (cards for those patients younger than 18).

    STEP 1: Locate a medical provider who is registered to recommend medical cannabis. To find a registered provider refert to our Locate a Provider page.

    STEP 2: Meet with a QMP. The initial visit must be in person.

    STEP 3: Create a Utah ID account in the Guardian’s name (if they do not already have one). A Utah ID account can be created by going to id.utah.gov. For Utah ID account creation instructions, click here.

    STEP 4: Review the EVS user guide and apply online for a medical cannabis card.

    STEP 5: After a guardian creates a profile in the EVS and is in “awaiting certification” status, the QMP will enter their certification and recommendation.

    STEP 6: Pay medical cannabis card application fee online. The patient’s guardian returns to their profile in the EVS and pays their medical cannabis card application fee online.

    Medical cannabis card fees:

  • Guardian and Provisional Patient Cards (initial): $68.25
  • Guardian and Provisional Patient Cards (renewal): $24
  • Secondary Guardian and Provisional Patient Cards (initial): $15
  • Secondary Guardian and Provisional Patient Cards (renewal): $15
  • Note: All applications will be complete and enter 'Awaiting CUB Review' status after a guardian has returned the background check forms to the Department of Health.

    STEP 7: Provide medical records related to the treatment of the recommending condition to the QMP.The QMP will upload the information for the Compassionate Use Board Petition online.

    STEP 8: Guardian completes background check forms. After payment, the Department of Health will contact guardians using the email submitted they have submitted in the EVS to begin the background check process.

    Please contact us at cubcmc@utah.gov with questions about the background check process.

    STEP 9: DHHS reviews medical cannabis card application. The DHHS will review the medical cannabis guardian card application and confirm whether all requirements have been met. For minor patients younger than age 18, the application review process will be completed 90 days or less, as these applications must be reviewed by the Compassionate Use Board.

    To check the status of a Compassionate Use Board petition email us at cubcmc@utah.gov.

    STEP 10: Receive medical cannabis card. If all requirements have been met, the DHHS will issue the medical cannabis guardian card and the provisional patient card. The patient’s guardian will receive both their card and their minor’s provisional patient card via email. The patient’s guardian can then save the cards on their smartphone or print them out.

    STEP 11: Purchase medical cannabis from a medical cannabis pharmacy. Once a medical cannabis card is issued by the DHHS, a patient’s guardian is ready to purchase product from a medical cannabis pharmacy. To purchase medical cannabis, a patient’s guardian must bring their medical cannabis card and a valid form of photo identification, such as a driver’s license, with them to the pharmacy.

    A list of Utah’s 14 medical cannabis pharmacies is posted here. The 15th pharmacy located in Price is set to open in the Fall of 2022.

    NOTE: The patient must have an active medical cannabis card in order to register as their caregiver.

    STEP 1:Current medical cannabis patient designates caregiver online. Before a caregiver begins the process to apply for a medial cannabis caregiver card, a patient may add the caregiver’s information to the electronic verification system (EVS). See page 24 of the EVS Patient Application User Guide for instructions.

    STEP 2: Create a Utah ID account in the Caregiver’s name (if they do not already have one). A Utah ID account can be created by going to id.utah.gov. For Utah ID account creation instructions, click here.

    STEP 3: Review the EVS user guide and apply online for a medical cannabis card.The EVS Caregiver Application Guide can be found here.

    STEP 4:Pay medical cannabis card application fee online.The caregiver pays their medical cannabis card application fee online in the EVS.

    Medical cannabis card fees:

  • Caregiver Card (primary patient initial): $68.25
  • Caregiver Card (secondary patient initial) $15
  • Caregiver Card (first renewal): No charge
  • Caregiver Card (primary patient subsequent renewals): $14
  • Note: All applications will be complete and enter 'Awaiting State Review” status after a caregiver has made payment.

    STEP 5: Caregiver completes background check forms.After payment, the Department will contact caregivers using the email submitted they have submitted in the EVS to begin the background check process.

    Please contact us at medicalcannabis@utah.gov with questions about the background check process.

    STEP 6: DHHS reviews medical cannabis card application.The application review process will be completed 15 days or less from the date the caregiver’s background check has cleared.

    STEP 7: Receive medical cannabis card.If all requirements have been met, the DHHS will issue the medical cannabis caregiver card. The caregiver will receive their card via email. The caregiver can then save the card on their smartphone or print them out.

    STEP 8: Purchase medical cannabis from a medical cannabis pharmacy.Once a medical cannabis card is issued by the DHHS, a caregiver is ready to purchase product from a medical cannabis pharmacy. To purchase medical cannabis, a caregiver must bring their medical cannabis card and a valid form of photo identification, such as a driver’s license, with them to the pharmacy.

    Before the first purchase a patient will need to consult with a medical cannabis pharmacist. Some pharmacies require an appointment made in advance for this consultation.

    A list of Utah’s 14 medical cannabis pharmacies is posted here. The 15th pharmacy located in Price is set to open in the Fall of 2022.

    Utah Medical Cannabis Cards for Non-Utah Residents Visitors to the state of Utah who are medical cannabis card holders in their home state can apply for a temporary card that allows access to Utah Medical Cannabis pharmacies while they are visiting Utah.

    The cards are good for 21 days at a time, and patients may be issued two 21-day cards per calendar year. These cards are available ONLY to patients who are diagnosed with a qualifying condition as determined by Utah law

    STEP 1: Create a Utah ID account (if you do not already have one).A Utah ID account can be created by going to id.utah.gov. For Utah ID account creation instructions, click here.

    STEP 2: Review the EVS user guide and apply online for a medical cannabis card. EVS questions can be answered here.

    STEP 3: Pay medical cannabis card application fee online.The patient and pays their medical cannabis card application fee online in the EVS.

    NOTE: Pop up blockers must be turned off.

    Medical cannabis card fees:

    • Patient Card (initial): $15
    • Patient Card (renewal): $15

    STEP 4. Receive medical cannabis card the day prior to travel. If all requirements have been met, the DHHS will issue the card and email the patient a copy of their medical cannabis card. The patient can then save the medical cannabis card on their smart device or print it out. To verify receipt you many call us at 801.538.6504

    STEP 5. Purchase medical cannabis from a medical cannabis pharmacy. Once a medical cannabis card is issued, a patient is ready to purchase product from a medical cannabis pharmacy. A patient must bring their medical cannabis card and a valid form of photo identification, such as a driver’s license, with them to the pharmacy.

    Before the first purchase a patient will need to consult with a medical cannabis pharmacist. Some pharmacies require an appointment made in advance for this consultation.

    A list of Utah’s 14 medical cannabis pharmacies is posted here. The 15th pharmacy located in Price is set to open in the Fall of 2022.

    Individuals may apply for a medical cannabis card here. Medical cannabis cards cannot be obtained from a medical cannabis pharmacy, medical clinic, or from any entity other than DHHS.

    The requirements to get a medical cannabis card include:

    1. Must be a Utah Resident;
    2. Must have at least one qualifying condition;
    3. Submit an application online;
    4. Meet in-person with a medical provider registered with the Utah Department of Health to recommend medical cannabis;
    5. The medical provider has certified your eligibility for a medical cannabis card online; and
    6. Pay a $15 application fee online.

    NOTE: If a patient is a minor under the age of 21 or if they are an adult over 21 but do not have a qualifying condition, the application must be reviewed by the Compassionate Use Board. A minor cannot receive a medical cannabis card unless their parent or legal guardian qualifies for a medical cannabis guardian card.

    As of January 3, 2022, a patient’s first medical cannabis card is active for 6 months from the date it was issued (Compassionate Use Board patient renewal dates may differ). The patient and their qualified medical provider (QMP) must renew the card online or the card expires. Subsequent card renewal cycles are six months or one year. The one-year renewal cycle is possible if, after at least one year following the issuance of the original card, the QMP determines that the patient has been stabilized on medical cannabis treatment and a one-year renewal period is justified.

    Medical cannabis cardholders may visit a medical cannabis pharmacy to purchase products. As of July 1, 2021, out-of-state purchases and possession of medical cannabis are no longer permitted.

    For adult patients ages 21 and older with a qualifying condition, the application review process will be completed 15 days or less from the date the application is submitted. For patients under the age of 21 and adult patients without a qualifying condition, the application review process will be completed 90 days or less from the date the complete patient petition is submitted, as these applications must be reviewed by the Compassionate Use Board.

    DHHS has a list of medical providers who have registered with the DHHS as Qualified Medical Providers (QMPs). This list only includes those QMPs who have authorized the DHHS to post their name, specialty, and contact information on the DHHS website.

    Participation in the medical cannabis program as a medical provider is voluntary and some providers will not choose to become QMPs. If your current provider will not be participating in the program, you may choose to consult with other providers covered by your health insurance about their registration status or talk to your provider about seeing a QMP that they recommend.

    Qualifying conditions under the Utah Medical Cannabis Act are listed below:

    • HIV or acquired immune deficiency syndrome
    • Alzheimer’s disease
    • amyotrophic lateral sclerosis
    • cancer
    • cachexia
    • persistent nausea that is not significantly responsive to traditional treatment, except for nausea related to:
      • pregnancy
      • cannabis-induced cyclical vomiting syndrome
      • cannabinoid hyperemesis syndrome
    • Crohn’s disease or ulcerative colitis
    • epilepsy or debilitating seizures
    • multiple sclerosis or persistent and debilitating muscle spasms
    • post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) that is being treated and monitored by a licensed health therapist (defined here), and that:
      • has been diagnosed by a healthcare provider by the Veterans Administration and documented in the patient’s record; or
      • has been diagnosed or confirmed by evaluation from a psychiatrist, masters prepared psychologist, a masters prepared licensed clinical social worker, or a psychiatric APRN
    • autism
    • a terminal illness when the patient’s life expectancy is less than six months
    • a condition resulting in the individual receiving hospice care
    • a rare condition or disease that affects less than 200,000 individuals in the U.S., as defined in federal law, and that is not adequately managed despite treatment attempts using conventional medications (other than opioids or opiates) or physical interventions
    • persistent pain lasting longer than two weeks that is not adequately managed, in the qualified medical provider’s opinion, despite treatment attempts using conventional medications other than opioids or opiates or physical interventions
    • acute pain that is expected to last for 2 weeks or longer for an acute condition, including a surgical procedure, for which a medical professional may generally prescribe opioids for a limited duration

    Note: Patients with medical conditions not listed in the law may petition the Compassionate Use Board for a medical cannabis card, which will review complete petitions and recommend eligibility on a case-by-case basis. LMPs are unable to submit to the Compassionate Use Board. 

    Medical cannabis will only be available in the following forms under the Utah Medical Cannabis Act:

    • Aerosol
    • Tablet
    • Capsule
    • Concentrated oil
    • Liquid suspension
    • Transdermal preparation
    • Gelatinous cube
    • Unprocessed cannabis flower in a tamper-evident and a resistant container that is opaque that contains a quantity that varies no more than 10% from the stated weight at the time of packaging
    • Wax or resin
    • Medical cannabis devices such as a vaping pen that warms cannabis material into a vapor without the use of a flame and that delivers cannabis to an individual’s respiratory system

    Smoking cannabis is not permitted.

    The law prohibits candies, cookies, brownies, and other edible products.

    Qualifying patients may not possess more than an amount sufficient to provide 30 days of treatment based on the dosing guidelines recommended by their recommending medical provider and may not exceed:

    • More than 113 grams of unprocessed cannabis (flower); and
    • More than 20 grams of total composite THC in all other medicinal dosage forms.

    Within a 30-day period, qualifying patients may not purchase more than an amount sufficient to provide 30 days of treatment based on the dosing guidelines recommended by their recommending medical provider and may not exceed:

    • more than 113 grams of unprocessed cannabis (flower); and
    • more than 20 grams of total composite THC in all other medicinal dosage forms.

    No, cannabis is not legal under federal law.

    Because medical cannabis users are not a protected class, there are no renter protections for those who choose to possess and use medical cannabis.

    There are some limited protections for state and local government employees. The Utah Medical Cannabis Act allows these employers to treat medical cannabis use in the same fashion as opioids or opiates, meaning that disciplinary action and/or termination may occur due to impairment or poor job performance.

    Private employees are subject to their employer’s policies, which may include zero-tolerance for cannabis and/or drug testing.

    Yes. It is legal under Utah law for anyone to purchase and possess hemp extract, or CBD oil if it contains less than 0.3% tetrahydrocannabinol (THC). These products must be registered with the Utah Department of Agriculture and Food.

    Monthly updates and other news can be found here.

    To sign up for the DHHS Center for Medical Cannabis Monthly Update emails, click here.

    Patient Cards: Patients 18 years of age and older.

    Guardian Cards: Parents or legal guardians of minors who are eligible to consume medical cannabis. These cards are issued in conjunction with provisional patient cards.

    Provisional Patient Cards: Minors under the age of 18 who meet the eligibility requirements to consume medical cannabis. These are issued in conjunction with guardian cards. All provisional patient cards must have approval from the Compassionate Use Board.

    Caregiver Cards: Adults 21 years of age and older who care for patient cardholders who are unable to procure or consume medical cannabis on their own. Caregivers must be designated by the patient cardholders they will be assisting.

    Non-Utah Resident Cards: Patients with a Utah qualifying condition that hold a cannabis card from another state may apply for a temporary card while visiting Utah.

    The following fees apply to medical cannabis cards:

    • Patient Card (initial): $15
    • Patient Card (six-month renewal): $15
    • Guardian Card (initial): $68.25
    • Guardian Card (six-month renewal): $24
    • Caregiver Card (initial): $68.25
    • Caregiver Card (six-month renewal): $14
    • Non-Utah Resident Card (initial & renewal): $15

    Qualified medical providers (QMPs) may submit directions for use and dosing guidelines for their patients in the electronic verification system (EVS) or they may leave those up to the pharmacy medical provider at the medical cannabis pharmacy to determine.

    The Compassionate Use Board is responsible to review all card applications from patients under the age of 21 and patients with conditions not listed in the statute. These patients must submit medical cannabis card application, petition the Board, and be approved by the Board and the Utah Department of Health and Human Services before a medical cannabis card can be issued. The Board consists of seven providers who meet to review applications for medical cannabis cards on a case-by-case basis.

    The patient must have a Utah qualifying condition and register with the Utah Department of Health and Human Services for a Non-Utah Resident card via the Electronic Verification System (EVS) for approval. Non-Utah Residents may request a card for up to two 21-day periods within a calendar year. For instructions on how to change your application click here.  Or contact us at Medicalcannabis@utah.gov or call 801-538-6504

    Utah cardholders can only purchase medical cannabis from a DHHS contracted pharmacy. Home delivery options may be available at select locations; check the pharmacy’s website for participation.

    All participants in the medical cannabis program must submit a valid and current form of government-issued photo ID. Please visit the Utah Department of Public Safety website for more information about obtaining an Identification Card or Driver’s License. Information about obtaining a United States passport or passport card can be found here.

    Only in very rare cases does DHHS have the authority to release information about whether an individual holds a medical cannabis card without first obtaining written consent from the medical cannabis cardholder.  Here are some examples of the rare cases when the department is authorized to release identifiable information about a cardholder without the department obtaining written consent from the cardholder:
     
    • 1. Utah Code 26-61a-103 (4) provides that all Utah-licensed physicians, APRNs, Podiatrists, and PAs may access information about a cardholder if the cardholder is a patient the prescribing provider treats.
    • 2. Utah Code 26-61a-103 (2)(g) provides that state and local law enforcement may verify if an individual holds a medical cannabis card during a law enforcement encounter.  If state and local law enforcement wants to verify the medical cannabis card of an individual at a time other than during a law enforcement encounter, they must first obtain a warrant from a court judge for that information.  If state or local law enforcement wants a cardholder’s medical cannabis product purchase history, they must first obtain a warrant from a court judge for that information.
    • 3. Utah Code 26-61a-103 (5) provides that the department may release limited data collected about cardholders for the purpose of conducting medical and other department-approved research. In the future, it is possible that medical researchers from an accredited university may obtain approval from an Institutional Review Board (IRB) to conduct medical research.  In these cases, only limited data about cardholders would be released.
     
    DHHS is careful to ensure the protection of cardholder information. In the rare cases when it is legal to release the data, the department requires that the users of the cardholder information comply with strict standards to ensure its protection and to ensure its use is limited to the purpose for which it was released.
     
     

    If you wish to withdraw your consent for your information to be used for external research, please email medicalcannabis@utah.gov to opt-out.

    If you wish to cancel your patient card prior to your expiration date, follow these steps:

    1. Log in to your account at evs.utah.gov
    2. From the Tracking Inbox, click Patient (not new patient)
    3. Click on your name to open your application.
    4. Click the blue “cancel my registration” button from the bottom of your application.