
Utah Medical Cannabis Cards for Non-Utah Residents 

Visitors to the state of Utah who are medical cannabis card holders in their home state can apply for a 
temporary card that allows access to Utah Medical Cannabis pharmacies while they are visiting Utah. 
The cards are good for 21 days at a time, and patients may be issued two 21-day cards per calendar 
year. 

These cards are available ONLY to patients who are diagnosed with a qualifying condition as determined 
by Utah law: 

 acute pain 
 acquired immune deficiency syndrome or HIV 
 Alzheimer’s disease 
 amyotrophic lateral sclerosis 
 cancer 
 cachexia 
 persistent pain lasting longer than two weeks 
 Crohn’s disease or ulcerative colitis 
 epilepsy or debilitating seizures 
 multiple sclerosis or persistent and debilitating muscle spasms 
 post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD)  
 autism 
 a terminal illness when the patient’s life expectancy is less than six months 
 a condition resulting in the individual receiving hospice care 
 a rare condition or disease that affects less than 200,000 individuals in the U.S., as defined in 

federal law, and that is not adequately managed despite treatment attempts using conventional 
medications (other than opioids or opiates) or physical interventions 

 

To register for a Non-Utah resident card: 

1. Access the system at evs.utah.gov 

 

All users must first establish a Utah-ID account to set up a user ID and password for the Electronic 
Verification System. Click “create an account” to start this process or you can do this step in advance at 
id.utah.gov 



2. Click Patient Registration 

 
3. On the registration screen, select registration type “Non-Utah Resident” and ensure all other 

required fields are completed.  
 

 
4. From the home page, hover over “Tracking Inbox” and then Patient -> New Patient 

 

5. This will open your patient registration record. Select applicant type “I am applying for myself” 
or “I am applying for my minor child.” Complete all required fields in the Patient Information 
and Patient Proof of Identity section.  



 

6. Use the blue “browse” button to upload a copy of your current out-of-state Medical Cannabis 
patient card.  

7. Click save at the bottom left of the screen. *note that if you receive any validation errors for 
incomplete fields, you’ll need to re-upload your cannabis card copy.* 

8. When the screen has saved correctly your card will be in status “awaiting payment.” Click the 
Payment tab to enter a credit card payment. You must disable your pop-up blocker in your 
browser settings.  

9.  

 
10. Click the blue “click here to pay” button 

 

11. This will prompt your browser to open a new payment window. If the window does not open, 
your browser’s pop-up blocker is interfering and must be turned off. Follow the payment 
instructions on the Utah GOVPAY payment screens.  



12. When your payment has completed successfully it will return you to the Payment listing in your 
EVS account. Use the blue Patient link in the breadcrumb trail to return to your patient 
information and confirm your updated status 

 
13. Your status will now be Awaiting State Review. An approver with the Medical Cannabis program 

will review the Non-Resident application and whenever possible, we will activate your card on 
your requested activation date. When your card has been approved, you will receive an email 
with a copy of your card to print or download to your phone. 
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