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Monthly update newsletters moving to quarterly update newsletters

The next newsletter will be released in October.
Sometimes, we may send out a separate email to stakeholders with important news that can't
wait until the next newsletter. 

Subscribe to public meeting updates for the Medical Cannabis Policy Advisory Board, the
Cannabis Research Review Board, and the Center for Medical Cannabis on the Utah Public
Notice website at https://www.utah.gov/pmn/ so that you don't miss any of our public
meetings. 
You can look at our monthly data reports on the program data section of our website at
https://medicalcannabis.utah.gov/resources/program-data/.
You can look at the published medical cannabis education materials by going to the resource
library section of our website at https://medicalcannabis.utah.gov/resources/resource-
library/.
Visit our website at https://medicalcannabis.utah.gov/ for more resources, like how to
access the EVS, frequently asked questions, and a link to the medical cannabis cost visit website. 

Thank you to all of our stakeholders who subscribe and read these monthly updates! 
We are moving this newsletter to quarterly updates. 

In between our newsletters, you can keep up with us by using these resources: 

New Compassionate Use Board (CUB) petition

The petition is still completed through a REDCap survey. 
QMPs do not need to resubmit petitions that are currently pending.  

The CUB petition was recently updated to reflect new law changes and streamline the process. As
QMPs and patients complete the EVS application a link to the new petition will be emailed to the QMP. 

Contact cubcmc@utah.gov if you have any questions about the new CUB petition. 

A doctor with a stethoscope holding a container that says
"Medical Cannabis". 

https://www.utah.gov/pmn/
https://medicalcannabis.utah.gov/resources/program-data/
https://medicalcannabis.utah.gov/resources/resource-library/
https://medicalcannabis.utah.gov/
mailto:cubcmc@utah.gov


A screenshot of the EVS showing how a QMP can choose a shorter medical cannabis card renewal period for a patient.
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Medical cannabis card 1 year renewal period 

If an LMP wants the patient's medical cannabis card to have a shorter renewal period, they can
mark this on the LMP medical cannabis recommendation form available at
https://medicalcannabis.utah.gov/providers/lmp/.
If a QMP wants the patient's medical cannabis card to have a shorter renewal period, they can
select this in a drop-down menu when submitting the medical cannabis certification in the EVS.
Email qmpcmc@utah.gov if you have any questions about renewal periods in the EVS. 

During the 2023 legislative session, medical cannabis laws changed to make the renewal period for
medical cannabis cards 1 year. The electronic verification system (EVS) automatically follows this
new law. However, medical providers can shorten the patient's medical cannabis card renewal
period to 3 or 6 months, if needed. 

Medical cannabis pharmacies will be managed by the Utah
Department of Agriculture and Food (UDAF) starting July 8, 2023

For patients and medical providers, nothing will change. You will still use the EVS to submit and
manage your medical cannabis recommendations. 
For medical cannabis pharmacists, nothing will change. DHHS will still oversee all medical
providers, which includes you. DHHS will oversee your continuing education and your medical
cannabis pharmacist registration. 
For medical cannabis pharmacy agents, UDAF will start overseeing compliance visits, continuing
education, and your medical cannabis pharmacy agent or courier registration. If you have
questions or concerns, you can reach out to UDAF at cannabis@utah.gov.

During the 2023 Legislative Session, HB72 was passed. HB72 makes it so that UDAF will take over
most regulatory authority over medical cannabis pharmacies. Here's what this means for you: 

https://medicalcannabis.utah.gov/providers/lmp/
mailto:qmpcmc@utah.gov
mailto:cannabis@utah.gov


Upcoming meetings

Cannabis Research Review Board meetings and recordings are available at
https://medicalcannabis.utah.gov/resources/cannabinoid-product-board/.
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Cannabis Research Review Board (CRRB) meetings 

For the meeting dates/times, virtual meeting links, or to see information about past
meetings, visit the Utah Public Meeting Notice website at
https://www.utah.gov/pmn/sitemap/notice/830495.html

The CRRB reviews cannabis research and provides recommendations to the Utah Legislature and
DHHS Center for Medical Cannabis about cannabis use, medical conditions that respond to cannabis,
medical cannabis products, and medical cannabis dosages.

Medical cannabis policy advisory board meetings

The first board meeting is on July 18, 2023 at 2 p.m. MT
The agenda will include discussing rule changes about product labeling, establishing board bylaws,
and voting for a board chair and vice-chair.
Board meetings are open to the public and can be joined virtually or in person. 
To see information about the board, including meeting dates and times, agendas and
handouts, and to subscribe for information about future meetings, visit the Utah Public
Meeting Notice website at https://www.utah.gov/pmn/sitemap/publicbody/8241.html

The medical cannabis policy advisory board was created during the 2023 legislative session. This board
discusses medical cannabis policy issues and makes recommendations to DHHS, UDAF, and state
lawmakers. 

https://medicalcannabis.utah.gov/resources/cannabinoid-product-board/
https://www.utah.gov/pmn/sitemap/notice/830495.html
https://www.utah.gov/pmn/sitemap/publicbody/8241.html
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Utah Department of Agriculture and Food (UDAF) Cannabis
Production Establishment Licensing Advisory Board meetings 

The next UDAF Cannabis Establishment Licensing Boards meetings are: 
June 15, 2023, at 3:00 p.m. MT 
August 9, 2023, at 3:00 p.m. MT 
October 10, 2023, at 3:00 p.m. MT 
December 5, 2023, at 3:00 p.m. MT
Meetings can be attended in person or virtually. 

For in-person meeting locations, virtual meeting links, or to see information about
past meetings, visit the Utah Public Meeting Notice website at
https://www.utah.gov/pmn/sitemap/notice/837119.html. 

The UDAF Cannabis Production Establishment Licensing Advisory Board reviews cannabis
cultivation and production license applications and renewals. They also review requests such as
ownership changes, location changes, and production changes, among others.

2023 Medical Cannabis Governance Structure Working Group 

The working group's meetings are:
August 7, 2023, at 4:00 pm MT
October 10, 2023, at 4:00 pm MT

These meetings are open to the public, and can be attended in-person or virtually. 
To subscribe to notifications for these meetings and to see the agenda and other
meeting information, visit the Utah Legislature's website at
https://le.utah.gov/committee/committee.jsp?year=2023&com=SPEMCG

The Utah Legislature's Medical Cannabis Governance Structure Working Group is meeting this
summer. 

https://www.utah.gov/pmn/sitemap/notice/837119.html
https://le.utah.gov/committee/committee.jsp?year=2023&com=SPEMCG


Medical cannabis education 
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If your medical provider wrote dosing guidelines for 0.5 g of cannabis every day, then you could buy
15 g of cannabis each month. 
If your medical provider wrote dosing guidelines for 7 g of cannabis every day, you could buy the
monthly maximum of cannabis each month, since what your provider wrote is more than the
maximum written in the law. 

When buying medical cannabis, there is a limit to the amount you can buy each month. The law says
that the maximum amount that anyone can buy every 30 days is 113 grams (g) of unprocessed flower
or 20 g of THC in all other cannabis types, like gummies or vape cartridges. 
If your medical provider writes dosing guidelines in your recommendation that are less than the
maximum listed in the law, then you will be limited to the amount that is written in your
recommendation. If they write dosing guidelines that are more than the maximum in the law, then you
are limited to the maximum amount that is written in the law. Take a look at these examples: 

Remember, you don't have to buy all of your monthly cannabis at one time; you can spread out how
much you buy throughout the month and buy at different pharmacies, too. 
Have questions about medical cannabis laws in Utah? Email medicalcannabis@utah.gov.

Have you ever had questions about the Utah medical cannabis laws? We're here to help! Over the next few
months, our medical cannabis education is going to focus on the different parts of the Utah medical
cannabis laws. 

mailto:medicalcannabis@utah.gov


Review our data reports at  https://medicalcannabis.utah.gov/resources/reporting/.

Research and data

DHHS data reporting
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The number of active
medical cannabis
cardholders increased by 2%
from 70,325 patients in May
to 71,850 in June. 
The number of QMPs
increased by 11 to 959 total
QMPs between May and
June.
Salt Lake County had the
most deliveries in the month
of June, followed by Davis
and Weber Counties. 

In May:

UDAF data reporting

8 medical cannabis cultivators who are allowed to cultivate medical cannabis. 
1 tier-2 processor who is allowed to package and label medical cannabis products. 
14 tier-1 processors who are allowed to process, formulate, package, and label medical cannabis
products. 
1 testing lab licensee who tests medical cannabis products before they're sold. 

As of May 2023, there are: 

CUB data

https://medicalcannabis.utah.gov/resources/reporting/
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This program can subsidize the following costs: 
Medical consultations and doctor visits.
Medical cannabis products and devices.
DHHS electronic verification system (EVS) fees.
Cannabis home delivery costs. 

In order to qualify, you must provide:
Proof of Utah residency.
Proof of financial eligibility.
Proof of a qualifying medical condition for medical cannabis. 
Proof of registration or intent to register as a cardholder with the DHHS Center for Medical
Cannabis. 

Learn more about the Utah Subsidy Program at https://utahpatients.org/upsp/. 

You may qualify for financial help to pay for medical cannabis. The Utah Patients Coalition has a Utah
Subsidy Program that assists with many costs associated with medical cannabis. 

Utah Subsidy Program from Utah Patients Coalition

QMPs and medical clinics are required to report their fees if they represent online or in printed
materials that they offer medical cannabis evaluations. 
The fees posted are estimates. Always contact the clinic or your insurance provider to confirm
what your out-of-pocket costs will be. 

You'll need to provide the name of the QMP you met and the name and address of the clinic
where you met with them. 

Medical cannabis patients should be able to know the cost of their medical visits and have the
opportunity to find the right care at a reasonable price. The Medical Cannabis Visit Cost website 
 (https://healthcost.utah.gov/cannabis.php) helps patients compare prices charged by
qualified medical providers (QMPs) for initial and renewal medical cannabis evaluation visits. Here's
what you need to know about the site:  

Are there incorrect prices listed? If you notice a price posted on the website is significantly
different than the price actually charged by a clinic, you can submit a complaint at
https://forms.gle/TiCGp1axn6iKj2md9. 

Utah Medical Cannabis Visit Cost website

https://utahpatients.org/upsp/
https://healthcost.utah.gov/cannabis.php
https://healthcost.utah.gov/cannabis.php
https://forms.gle/TiCGp1axn6iKj2md9
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External medical cannabis research review requests

We invite you to submit studies for review and consideration. The industry and public
are welcome to submit studies published inside and outside the United States for review by the
DHHS and CRRB. The DHHS will evaluate the validity of the scientific findings of each study
submitted based on the rigor of the study design, the risk of bias, and relevance.
To submit a study for review, fill out this form: https://forms.gle/HegxpfZ3TdGPfkcw7.
If the study meets the scientific rigor required by state statute, then it will be shared with the
CRRB. 
To review the state statute about scientific studies, visit
https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title26B/Chapter1/26B-1-S420.html?v=C26B-1-
S420_2023050320230503

The Cannabis Research Review Board (CRRB) and the DHHS Center for Medical Cannabis want to
create an inclusive and educated medical cannabis program community by continuing to consider
research studies submitted by the industry and the public. 

UDAF medical cannabis production information
Are you interested in learning more about medical cannabis production? You can find information
about production facilities, production numbers, administrative rules, application resources, and
more at https://medicalcannabis.utah.gov/production/.

https://forms.gle/HegxpfZ3TdGPfkcw7
https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title26B/Chapter1/26B-1-S420.html?v=C26B-1-S420_2023050320230503
https://medicalcannabis.utah.gov/production/

