# Medical cannabis limited medical provider guide



#### Who can recommend medical cannabis?

The Utah Medical Cannabis Act (26-61a) allows any Utah MD, DO, APRN, PA, or podiatrist practicing in Utah with a valid controlled substance license to recommend medical cannabis to their patients.

Limited Medical Providers (LMP) are not required to complete additional medical cannabis certificate training. They may recommend medical cannabis up to 15 patients. LMPs cannot recommend medical cannabis to patients younger than 21.

Qualified Medical Providers (QMP) must complete 4 hours of CME and be registered with the DHHS. QMPs may recommend medical cannabis to patients younger than 21 and up to the number of patients that are equal to 1.5% of the current number of active medical cannabis patients. If the QMP bills the patient's insurance, the medical cannabis recommendation will not count towards their patient limit.

To learn more about LMPs and QMPs, visit medicalcannabis.utah.gov/providers.

### Possession limit

Patients may not possess more than an amount sufficient to provide 30 days of treatment based on dosing guidelines recommended by their medical provider and may not exceed:

- More than 113 grams of unprocessed cannabis (flower); and
- More than 20 grams of total composite THC in all other medicinal dosage forms.



A variety of medical cannabis products on a desk with a stethoscope.

# Where can I learn more?

The Center for Medical Cannabis is a service of the Utah Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS).

Website: medicalcannabis.utah.gov

Phone: 801-538-6504

For questions about the Utah Medical Cannabis Program,

email: medicalcannabis@utah.gov



A doctor holds a bottle of medical cannabis

#### Process to recommend medical cannabis

Recommending medical cannabis is a team effort between the patient, provider, and pharmacist.

#### 1. Patient meets face-to-face with a medical provider.

Providers must complete an in-person visit. Patients must be 21 years or older with a qualifying condition to receive a recommendation. A list of qualifying conditions can be found at medicalcannabis.utah.gov/providers. Once a qualifying condition is confirmed, a recommendation is appropriate. LMPs must use the Limited Medical Provider Recommendation for Medical Cannabis form. The form can be downloaded at

medicalcannabis.utah.gov/providers. The form can be submitted to a licensed medical cannabis pharmacy through an encrypted email, secure fax, or delivered by the patient.

Note: LMPs cannot treat patients younger than 21 or patients without a qualifying condition. These patients must seek a Qualified Medial Provider (QMP). A list of QMPs can be found at medicalcannabis.utah.gov/providers.

#### 2. Patient applies with DHHS.

Patients must apply for a medical cannabis card with the DHHS, at medicalcannabis.utah.gov/patients.

# 3. Medical cannabis pharmacy completes the patient's application.

The medical cannabis pharmacists will complete the application with the patient. A list of DHHS licensed medical cannabis pharmacies can be found at <u>medicalcannabis.utah.gov/pharmacies</u>.

## 4. Patients pays application fee online.

Most cards are issued with a 6 month renewal.

#### 5. DHHS issues the medical cannabis card.

DHHS will review applications. Once all requirements have been met, DHHS will notify the patient and issue the card. At this time the patient can purchase medical cannabis.



A doctor and patient discuss the patient needs at an appointment.

# Medical provider resources

Visit <u>medicalcannabis.utah.gov/resources</u> to view the library of resources:



Guidance on the suggested use of medical cannabis



DHHS reference documents and research



Utah medical cannabis law



Compassionate Use Board information



Cannabis Research Review Board



Frequently Asked Questions