





Department of
Agriculture and Food
Division of Plant Industry

Introduction

Seed

Reporting and Compliance

Laboratory and Testing

Cultivation and Processing

CBD/Cannabinoid Product Registration

Contact Information

INTRODUCTION TO HEMP PROGRAM AND APPLICATION

Utah's current industrial hemp law was created in 2018 and paved the way for legal product registration, distribution, cultivation licensing, and process licensing. Here are some important details:

- Applications for all licensure are available at the Utah Department of Agriculture and Food (UDAF) website at http://ag.utah.gov/cannabis
- Licenses are good for one year and are renewable through UDAF
- All industrial hemp cultivators will submit to product testing to ensure there is no more than 0.3% THC
- The Dept. does not charge a fee to apply, but the fees for a cultivation license is \$500.00 and the fee for a processing license is \$2000.00



WHAT YOU WILL NEED WHEN APPLYING...

- 1. GPS coordinates and full address
- Ariel view of property with full description of property
- 3. Blue prints of facility needed for processing license (food manufacturing registration needed as well)
- 4. Background checks for any name on license, and for anyone with access to or handling 0.3% or more hemp product.
- 5. Payment
- 6. Research statement, soil sample, water sources, security plan, storage plan, end use purpose(s) and method of disposal of product.

SEED

Currently, Utah does not have a seed registration or certification program. As such, buyers of seeds should exercise their own judgement when purchasing from sources. Please also be advised of the following:

- Industrial hemp seed can be imported to Utah from other states for cultivation, however the seed product must be accompanied by a UDAF-issued transportation permit
- All existing Utah seed laws apply to industrial hemp seed

REPORTING AND COMPLIANCE

M Pre-planting report information

M Planting report information

Marvesting information

Production report

Transportation of viable- and non-viable product and transportation permit

Storage (must be out-of-locked and out-of-public view)

Distance requirements, 600 ft from residences, 1000 ft from community centers

Inspections (planned and random)

LABRATORY AND TESTING



All industrial hemp product will be tested by the State of Utah for certification. Program rules also stipulate:

- 10 randomized tests per grow site, lot and or strain
- No cost for testing
- 30-day window for harvesting after samples are taken. Can ask for five-day extension if needed:
 - If hot, between 0.3% and 1% THC product must be destroyed
 - If hot, above 1% THC product must be destroyed and local law enforcement may be contacted for assistance
- No pesticides allowed

CULTIVATION AND PROCESSING

There is no limit to the number of cultivation or processing licenses that can be issued, nor are there any size limits on cultivation.



- UDAF must issue a travel permit for all viable product
- Growers must obtain a local business license and clearly state business intent with local government
- No forms of hydrocarbon extraction or processing is allowed
- All manufacture-included packaging and labeling will require a processing license

CBD/CANNABINOID PRODUCT REGISTRATION

Any product containing hemp must be registered with UDAF. Please also review the following:

- Solid seed or products which contain solid seed derivatives registration fee is \$100
- A \$200 registration for any product containing hemp or cannabinoid oil, or a derivative
- Products that change SKU or formulation will need to be registered again
- COAs for product and labels are required for registration
- All labels and claims must be compliant with existing State of Utah laws
- Retail sales of hemp flower (raw or cured), leaf, or other viable parts of a hemp plant are prohibited
- Only gelatinous cubes are compliant with Utah hemp laws no sugary or candy-like gummies are allowed
- Registrations will be based on fiscal calendar year (July 1 to June 30)

CONTACT INFORMATION

Andrew D. Rigby

Cannabis & Industrial Hemp Programs Manager

Ashley Lytton

Cannibis Industrial Hemp Specialist

Email: cannabis@utah.gov



350 North Redwood Road Salt Lake City, Utah 84116 801.538.7100 ag.utah.gov/cannabis-information

