Patient FAQ

Individuals may apply for a medical cannabis card here. Medical cannabis cards cannot be obtained from a medical cannabis pharmacy, medical clinic, or from any entity other than the Utah Department of Health.

The requirements to get a medical cannabis card include:

  1. Must be a Utah Resident;
  2. Must have at least one qualifying condition;
  3. Submit an application online;
  4. Meet in-person with a medical provider registered with the Utah Department of Health to recommend medical cannabis;
  5. The medical provider has certified your eligibility for a medical cannabis card online; and
  6. Pay a $15 application fee online.

NOTE: If a patient is a minor under the age of 21 or if they are an adult over 21 but do not have a qualifying condition, the application must be reviewed by the Compassionate Use Board. A minor cannot receive a medical cannabis card unless their parent or legal guardian qualifies for a medical cannabis guardian card.

A patient’s first medical cannabis card is active for 90 days from the date it was issued. Within the first 90 days, the patient and their qualified medical provider (QMP) must renew the patient’s medical cannabis card online or the card expires.  Subsequent card renewal cycles are every six months or one year. The one-year renewal cycle is possible if, after at least one year following the issuance of the original card, the QMP determines that the patient has been stabilized on medical cannabis treatment and a one-year renewal period is justified.

Medical cannabis cardholders may visit a medical cannabis pharmacy to purchase products. As of July 1, 2021, out-of-state purchases and possession of medical cannabis are no longer permitted.

For adult patients ages 21 and older with a qualifying condition, the application review process will be completed 15 days or less from the date the application is submitted. For patients under the age of 21 and adult patients without a qualifying condition, the application review process will be completed 90 days or less from the date the complete patient petition is submitted, as these applications must be reviewed by the Compassionate Use Board.

The Utah Department of Health (UDOH) has a list of medical providers who have registered with the UDOH as Qualified Medical Providers (QMPs). This list only includes those QMPs who have authorized the UDOH to post their name, specialty, and contact information on the UDOH website.

Participation in the medical cannabis program as a medical provider is voluntary and some providers will not choose to become QMPs. If your current provider will not be participating in the program, you may choose to consult with other providers covered by your health insurance about their registration status or talk to your provider about seeing a QMP that they recommend.

Qualifying conditions under the Utah Medical Cannabis Act are listed below:

  • HIV or acquired immune deficiency syndrome
  • Alzheimer’s disease
  • amyotrophic lateral sclerosis
  • cancer
  • cachexia
  • persistent nausea that is not significantly responsive to traditional treatment, except for nausea related to:
    • pregnancy
    • cannabis-induced cyclical vomiting syndrome
    • cannabinoid hyperemesis syndrome
  • Crohn’s disease or ulcerative colitis
  • epilepsy or debilitating seizures
  • multiple sclerosis or persistent and debilitating muscle spasms
  • post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) that is being treated and monitored by a licensed health therapist (defined here), and that:
    • has been diagnosed by a healthcare provider by the Veterans Administration and documented in the patient’s record; or
    • has been diagnosed or confirmed by evaluation from a psychiatrist, doctorate psychologist, a doctorate licensed clinical social worker, or a psychiatric APRN
  • autism
  • a terminal illness when the patient’s life expectancy is less than six months
  • a condition resulting in the individual receiving hospice care
  • a rare condition or disease that affects less than 200,000 individuals in the U.S., as defined in federal law, and that is not adequately managed despite treatment attempts using conventional medications (other than opioids or opiates) or physical interventions
  • pain lasting longer than two weeks that is not adequately managed, in the qualified medical provider’s opinion, despite treatment attempts using conventional medications other than opioids or opiates or physical interventions

Note: Patients with medical conditions not listed in the law may petition the Compassionate Use Board for a medical cannabis card, which will review complete petitions and recommend eligibility on a case-by-case basis.

Medical cannabis will only be available in the following forms under the Utah Medical Cannabis Act:

  • Tablet
  • Capsule
  • Concentrated oil
  • Liquid suspension
  • Transdermal preparation
  • Gelatinous cube
  • Unprocessed cannabis flower in a tamper-evident and a resistant container that is opaque that contains a quantity that varies no more than 10% from the stated weight at the time of packaging
  • Wax or resin
  • Medical cannabis devices such as a vaping pen that warms cannabis material into a vapor without the use of a flame and that delivers cannabis to an individual’s respiratory system

Smoking cannabis is not permitted.

The law prohibits candies, cookies, brownies, and other edible products.

Qualifying patients may not possess more than an amount sufficient to provide 30 days of treatment based on the dosing guidelines recommended by their recommending medical provider and may not exceed:

  • More than 113 grams of unprocessed cannabis (flower); and
  • More than 20 grams of total composite THC in all other medicinal dosage forms.

Within a 30-day period, qualifying patients may not purchase more than an amount sufficient to provide 30 days of treatment based on the dosing guidelines recommended by their recommending medical provider and may not exceed:

  • more than 113 grams of unprocessed cannabis (flower); and
  • more than 20 grams of total composite THC in all other medicinal dosage forms.

No, cannabis is not legal under federal law.

Because medical cannabis users are not a protected class, there are no renter protections for those who choose to possess and use medical cannabis.

There are some limited protections for state and local government employees. The Utah Medical Cannabis Act allows these employers to treat medical cannabis use in the same fashion as opioids or opiates, meaning that disciplinary action and/or termination may occur due to impairment or poor job performance.

Private employees are subject to their employer’s policies, which may include zero-tolerance for cannabis and/or drug testing.

Yes. It is legal under Utah law for anyone to purchase and possess hemp extract, or CBD oil if it contains less than 0.3% tetrahydrocannabinol (THC). These products must be registered with the Utah Department of Agriculture and Food.

Monthly updates and other news can be found here

To sign up for the Utah Medical Cannabis Program Monthly Update emails, click here.

Patient Cards: Patients 18 years of age and older.

Guardian Cards: Parents or legal guardians of minors who are eligible to consume medical cannabis. These cards are issued in conjunction with provisional patient cards.

Provisional Patient Cards: Minors under the age of 18 who meet the eligibility requirements to consume medical cannabis. These are issued in conjunction with guardian cards. All provisional patient cards must have approval from the Compassionate Use Board.

Caregiver Cards: Adults 21 years of age and older who care for patient cardholders who are unable to procure or consume medical cannabis on their own. Caregivers must be designated by the patient cardholders they will be assisting.

Non-Utah Resident Cards: Patients with a Utah Qualifying Condition that hold a cannabis card from another state may apply for a temporary card while visiting Utah.

The following fees apply to medical cannabis cards:

  • Patient Card (initial): $15
  • Patient Card (first 30-day renewal): $5
  • Patient Card (six-month renewal): $15
  • Guardian Card (initial): $68.25
  • Guardian Card (six-month renewal): $24
  • Caregiver Card (initial): $68.25
  • Caregiver Card (six-month renewal): $14
  • Non-Utah Resident Card (initial & renewal): $15

Qualified medical providers (QMPs) may submit directions for use and dosing guidelines for their patients in the electronic verification system (EVS) or they may leave those up to the pharmacy medical provider at the medical cannabis pharmacy to determine.

The Compassionate Use Board is responsible to review all card applications from patients under the age of 21 and patients with conditions not listed in the statute. These patients must submit medical cannabis card application, petition the Board, and be approved by the Board and the Utah Department of Health before a medical cannabis card can be issued. The Board consists of seven providers who meet to review applications for medical cannabis cards on a case-by-case basis.

The patient must have a Utah qualifying condition and register with the Utah Department of Health for a Non-Utah Resident card via the Electronic Verification System (EVS) for approval. Non-Utah Residents may request a card for up to two 21-day periods within a calendar year. For instructions on how to change your application click here.  Or contact us at Medicalcannabis@utah.gov or call 801-538-6504

Utah cardholders can only purchase medical cannabis from one of the Utah Department of Health’s contracted pharmacies. Home delivery options may be available at select locations check the pharmacy’s website for participation.

All participants in the medical cannabis program must submit a valid and current form of government-issued photo ID. Please visit the Utah Department of Public Safety website for more information about obtaining an Identification Card or Driver’s License. Information about obtaining a United States passport or passport card can be found here.

Only in very rare cases does the Utah Department of Health have the authority to release information about whether an individual holds a medical cannabis card without first obtaining written consent from the medical cannabis cardholder.  Here are some examples of the rare cases when the department is authorized to release identifiable information about a cardholder without the department obtaining written consent from the cardholder:
 
  • 1. Utah Code 26-61a-103 (4) provides that all Utah-licensed physicians, APRNs, Podiatrists, and PAs may access information about a cardholder if the cardholder is a patient the prescribing provider treats.
  • 2. Utah Code 26-61a-103 (2)(g) provides that state and local law enforcement may verify if an individual holds a medical cannabis card during a law enforcement encounter.  If state and local law enforcement wants to verify the medical cannabis card of an individual at a time other than during a law enforcement encounter, they must first obtain a warrant from a court judge for that information.  If state or local law enforcement wants a cardholder’s medical cannabis product purchase history, they must first obtain a warrant from a court judge for that information.
  • 3. Utah Code 26-61a-103 (5) provides that the department may release limited data collected about cardholders for the purpose of conducting medical and other department-approved research. In the future, it is possible that medical researchers from an accredited university may obtain approval from an Institutional Review Board (IRB) to conduct medical research.  In these cases, only limited data about cardholders would be released.
 
The Utah Department of Health is careful to ensure the protection of cardholder information. In the rare cases when it is legal to release the data, the department requires that the users of the cardholder information comply with strict standards to ensure its protection and to ensure its use is limited to the purpose for which it was released.
 
 

If you wish to withdraw your consent for your information to be used for external research, please email medicalcannabis@utah.gov to opt-out.

*Updated 7/16/2021


Provider FAQ

The Utah Department of Health (UDOH) has a list of medical providers who have registered with the UDOH as Qualified Medical Providers (QMPs). This list only includes those QMPs who have authorized the UDOH to post their name, specialty, and contact information on the UDOH website.

Participation in the medical cannabis program as a medical provider is voluntary and some providers will not choose to become QMPs. If your current provider will not be participating in the program, you may choose to consult with other providers covered by your health insurance about their registration status or talk to your provider about seeing a QMP that they recommend.

Yes. It is legal under Utah law for anyone to purchase and possess hemp extract, or CBD oil if it contains less than 0.3% tetrahydrocannabinol (THC). These products must be registered with the Utah Department of Agriculture and Food.

Monthly updates and other news can be found here

To sign up for the Utah Medical Cannabis Program Monthly Update emails, click here.

Patient Cards: Patients 18 years of age and older.

Guardian Cards: Parents or legal guardians of minors who are eligible to consume medical cannabis. These cards are issued in conjunction with provisional patient cards.

Provisional Patient Cards: Minors under the age of 18 who meet the eligibility requirements to consume medical cannabis. These are issued in conjunction with guardian cards. All provisional patient cards must have approval from the Compassionate Use Board.

Caregiver Cards: Adults 21 years of age and older who care for patient cardholders who are unable to procure or consume medical cannabis on their own. Caregivers must be designated by the patient cardholders they will be assisting.

Non-Utah Resident Cards: Patients with a Utah Qualifying Condition that hold a cannabis card from another state may apply for a temporary card while visiting Utah.

The following fees apply to medical cannabis cards:

  • Patient Card (initial): $15
  • Patient Card (first 30-day renewal): $5
  • Patient Card (six-month renewal): $15
  • Guardian Card (initial): $68.25
  • Guardian Card (six-month renewal): $24
  • Caregiver Card (initial): $68.25
  • Caregiver Card (six-month renewal): $14
  • Non-Utah Resident Card (initial & renewal): $15

Qualified medical providers (QMPs) may submit directions for use and dosing guidelines for their patients in the electronic verification system (EVS) or they may leave those up to the pharmacy medical provider at the medical cannabis pharmacy to determine.

The Compassionate Use Board is responsible to review all card applications from patients under the age of 21 and patients with conditions not listed in the statute. These patients must submit medical cannabis card application, petition the Board, and be approved by the Board and the Utah Department of Health before a medical cannabis card can be issued. The Board consists of seven providers who meet to review applications for medical cannabis cards on a case-by-case basis.

Utah cardholders can only purchase medical cannabis from one of the Utah Department of Health’s contracted pharmacies. Home delivery options may be available at select locations check the pharmacy’s website for participation.

Only in very rare cases does the Utah Department of Health have the authority to release information about whether an individual holds a medical cannabis card without first obtaining written consent from the medical cannabis cardholder.  Here are some examples of the rare cases when the department is authorized to release identifiable information about a cardholder without the department obtaining written consent from the cardholder:
 
  • 1. Utah Code 26-61a-103 (4) provides that all Utah-licensed physicians, APRNs, Podiatrists, and PAs may access information about a cardholder if the cardholder is a patient the prescribing provider treats.
  • 2. Utah Code 26-61a-103 (2)(g) provides that state and local law enforcement may verify if an individual holds a medical cannabis card during a law enforcement encounter.  If state and local law enforcement wants to verify the medical cannabis card of an individual at a time other than during a law enforcement encounter, they must first obtain a warrant from a court judge for that information.  If state or local law enforcement wants a cardholder’s medical cannabis product purchase history, they must first obtain a warrant from a court judge for that information.
  • 3. Utah Code 26-61a-103 (5) provides that the department may release limited data collected about cardholders for the purpose of conducting medical and other department-approved research. In the future, it is possible that medical researchers from an accredited university may obtain approval from an Institutional Review Board (IRB) to conduct medical research.  In these cases, only limited data about cardholders would be released.
 
The Utah Department of Health is careful to ensure the protection of cardholder information. In the rare cases when it is legal to release the data, the department requires that the users of the cardholder information comply with strict standards to ensure its protection and to ensure its use is limited to the purpose for which it was released.
 
 

If you wish to withdraw your consent for your information to be used for external research, please email medicalcannabis@utah.gov to opt-out.

The requirements to become a medical provider who may recommend patients for a medical cannabis card include:

  1. Be a Utah-licensed medical doctor (MD), osteopathic physician (DO), advanced practice registered nurse (ARPN), doctor of podiatric medicine (DPM), or physician assistant (PA) with a Utah controlled substance license;
  2. Complete at least 4 hours of department-approved education on medical cannabis;
  3. Submit an application to the Utah Department of Health (UDOH); and
  4. Pay a $100 application fee to the UDOH.

To keep their registration active, a QMP must renew their registration every two years from the date they first registered. To be eligible for renewal, the provider must complete another four hours of department-approved education on medical cannabis. The renewal fee is $50.

The application process takes less than 15 days. When an application is approved, a QMP will be sent an email and they can begin completing recommendations for patients applying for medical cannabis cards as soon as they receive the email.

Yes. A QMP may not recommend medical cannabis treatment to more than 275 of the QMP’s patients at one time, or to more than 600 patients if the QMP is certified by the appropriate American medical board in anesthesiology, neurology, oncology, pain, hospice, and palliative medicine, physical medicine and rehabilitation, endocrinology, rheumatology, or psychiatry or if a licensed business employs or contracts the QMP for the specific purpose of providing hospice and palliative care.

A QMP may not advertise that the QMP recommends medical cannabis treatment except a QMP may communicate the following through a website:

  1. a green cross;
  2. a qualifying condition that the QMP treats; and
  3. a scientific study regarding medical cannabis use.

A QMP may not:

  1. act as a medical cannabis pharmacy agent;
  2. have a financial or voting interest of 2% or greater in a medical cannabis pharmacy;
  3. have the power to direct or cause the management or control of a medical cannabis pharmacy; or
  4. receive any compensation or benefit for the qualified medical provider’s medical cannabis treatment recommendation from a:
    • cannabis production establishment or an owner, officer, director, board member, employee, or agent of a cannabis production establishment;
    • medical cannabis pharmacy or an owner, officer, director, board member, employee, or agent of a medical cannabis pharmacy; or
    • qualified medical provider or pharmacy medical provider.

Yes. In these cases, a patient may submit a petition for a medical cannabis card to the Compassionate Use Board that must include information from their QMP. The Board reviews the petition and makes a recommendation (approve, disapprove, require more information) to the Department of Health within 90 days from the date the application was complete.

A QMP must first establish a physician-patient relationship during at least one in-person appointment with the patient. During an appointment, the QMP must complete and document in the patient’s medical record a thorough assessment of the patient’s condition and medical history based on the appropriate standard of care for the patient’s condition.

To recommend a medical cannabis card to a patient, a QMP must also:

  1. verify the patient’s and, for a minor patient, the minor patient’s parent or legal guardian’s valid form of identification;
  2. review any record related to the patient and, for a minor patient, the patient’s parent or legal guardian in the state medical cannabis electronic verification system (EVS); and the controlled substance database;
  3. consider the recommendation in light of the patient’s qualifying condition and history of medical cannabis and controlled substance use; and
  4. enter an electronic certification in the EVS.

No, per the Utah medical statute in order to qualify for a medical cannabis card a patient must have at least one face-to-face visit with the QMP.

The PIN is located in the EVS within the QMP tab below your email address. Your PIN is a 4 digit, non-repeating number that you chose for registration. You also use the PIN to make recommendations in the EVS.

*Updated 7/16/2021


Electronic Verification System FAQ

To access the EVS enter the following URL or click the link from this post: https://medicalcannabis.utah.gov/evs-access/

By law, we must review your application within 15 business days; however, the turnaround time is
typically much shorter.

If you currently have an active card, and your status is “renewal complete.” You will receive a new card the day after your current card expires.

UDOH does not mail the cards. They are issued electronically in the EVS. You will not receive a physical card. You are welcome to print out the card from EVS, or you may display it on a smartphone while at the pharmacy.

You can reset your password at id.utah.gov

You can find step-by-step instructions here.

If you have an active card you can use the below steps to access it:

  1. Go to evs.utah.gov
  2. Log in using your username/email address and your password.
  3. Click on Tracking Inbox in the top left corner.
  4. Click on Patient (sometimes this requires you to click twice) DO NOT CLICK ON NEW PATIENT.
  5. Click on your name.
  6. Click on the clue Print Card button in the upper left area of the screen.

You are welcome to print out the card or you may display it on a smartphone when visiting a pharmacy.

You will only be able to pay for your card if your status is Awaiting Payment. (Your status is shown
below your Patient Registration ID field). If your status is Awaiting Payment you can use the below
steps to make payment:

  1. Go to evs.utah.gov
  2. Log in using your username/email address and your password.
  3. Select Tracking Inbox in the top left corner.
  4. Choose Patient (you may need to click on it twice) DO NOT CLICK ON NEW PATIENT.
  5. Select your name.
  6. Select the grey tab that says Payment (directly below the blue circles).
  7. Click +New.
  8. Select the blue Click Here to Pay button.
  9. A new window will open. **NOTE: you must disable your browser’s pop-up blocker. **
  10. Pay for your card using a credit or debit card.
  11. Once you have entered the required information you will be redirected automatically back to the EVS system.

This indicates that you already have an active account.

  1. Go to evs.utah.gov
  2. Log in using your username/email address and your password.
  3. Select Tracking Inbox in the top left corner.
  4. Choose Patient (you may need to click on it twice). DO NOT CLICK ON NEW PATIENT.
  5. Select your name.
  6. Finish the application.
  7. Select the blue Save button.
  8. Verify the information is correct.
  9. If correct, select the blue Save and Submit for Certification button.

If additional help is needed, contact our customer service for help with access. Or call 801.538.6504 to speak with a member of our staff.

Each application and renewal will require a Qualified Medical Provider (QMP) to enter their certification/recommendation.
Your status will stay in this status until your QMP enters the certification. Please contact your QMP to have them complete this process.

No, cards are issued electronically. You will not receive a physical card. You are welcome to print out the card from EVS, or you may display it on a smartphone while at the pharmacy.

Please make sure your PDF reader is up to date; if your card displays no information, this is a result of your computer software.

It is no longer a field on the patient application to enter the QMP name.

You can access any notes added to your application by using the below steps:

1. Go to evs.utah.gov
2. Login using your username/email address and your password.
3. Select Tracking Inbox in the top left corner.
4. Click Patient (you may need to click on it twice). DO NOT CLICK ON NEW PATIENT.
5. Select your name.
6. Click the grey tab labeled Notes (directly below the blue circles).
7. You will see all notes displayed there.

  1. Verify/update your information:
    1. Go to evs.utah.gov
    2. Log in using your username/email address and your password.
    3. Select the Tracking Inbox in the top left corner.
    4. Click Patient (you may need to click on it twice) DO NOT CLICK ON NEW PATIENT.
    5. Choose your name.
    6. Verify the information is correct and then click the blue Save and Submit for Certification button.
  2. Next, the QMP enters the certification in the EVS. After your QMP visit ask the provider to add or renew your certification. Once the QMP adds the certification to your EVS account the status will change to Awaiting Payment and you will receive an email.
  3. Pay fees:
    1. Go to evs.utah.gov
    2. Log in using your username/email address and your password.
    3. Select Tracking Inbox in the top left corner.
    4. Choose Patient (you may need to click on it twice) DO NOT CLICK ON NEW PATIENT.
    5. Select your name.
    6. Select the grey tab that says Payment (directly below the blue circles).
    7. Click +New.
    8. Select the blue Click Here to Pay button.
    9. A new window will open. **NOTE: you must disable your browser’s pop-up blocker. **
    10. Pay for your card using a credit or debit card.
    11. Once you have entered the required information you will be redirected automatically back to the EVS system.

If your status is Renewal Complete or Awaiting State Review then you are finished. If you have a current card, your new card will not be issued until the day after your current card’s expiration date. If your card requires review then UDOH will process the request.

If your status is Renewal Complete or Awaiting State Review then you are finished. If you have a current card, your new card will not be issued until the day after your current card’s expiration date. If your card requires review then UDOH will process the request.

UDOH does not mail the cards. They are issued electronically in the EVS. You will not receive a physical card. You are welcome to print out the card from EVS, or you may display it on a smartphone while at the pharmacy.

For help accessing your EVS account please click here or contact us by email at medicalcannabis@utah.gov or by phone at 801-538-6504

*Updated 7/16/2021