First Provider Cannabis CE Course Approved by Utah Department of Health

First Provider Cannabis CE Course Approved by Utah Department of Health

The Utah Medical Cannabis Program 4-hr Required Coursecreated by has been approved by the Utah Department of Health and satisfies the Utah educational requirements to become a practitioner with the Utah Medical Cannabis Program. Subscribers can also earn 4 ACCME/ACPE/AANP/ANCC/APA credits.


In addition, is offering a special introductory promotion: from now until September 15, 2019, the course can be purchased at a $50 discount. Simply visit and enter discount code UTDOH to reduce the price of the course from $279 to $229. Once purchased at this introductory price, subscribers will have 12 months to complete the course and have full access to all of the educational content for that 12 month period.


For group purchases, please contact or call  (888) 635-0975 (Mon-Fri, 9AM to 5PM EDT)


The Utah Medical Cannabis Program 4-hr Required Course introduces the reader to the endocannabinoid system and its interaction with the components of the cannabis plant, and addresses administration, therapeutic use, drug metabolism, physiologic and cognitive effects, potential risks, and drug interactions.


The use of marijuana in obstetric patients, pediatric patients, adolescent patients and elderly patients is discussed in detail. In addition, the health effects of marijuana and cannabinoids in epilepsy are reviewed. Important considerations for patients with ischemic heart disease, hepatic disease, psychotic illness, and those with a history of drug dependence are provided.


This course also informs the reader about the legal and medical considerations in the recommendation of medical marijuana, and addresses the parts of H.B. 3001, including the Utah Medical Cannabis Act, that would be of interest to a Utah healthcare provider.


Content provides Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (ACCME),  Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education (ACPE), American Association of Nurse Practitioners (AANP), American Nurses Credentialing Center (ANCC), and American Psychological Association (APA) credits.


The Utah Department of Health will continue to review and add continuing education courses in the upcoming months.